Cricket – Women’s cricket enters an exciting new era

We Are MEDWAY SPORTS Love Sport#SportsWebLinks

Women’s cricket enters an exciting new era this weekend with the launch of the Kia Super League. Here’s everything you need to know… Who is competing? The ground-breaking T20 competition will feature six brand new teams.

England women’s star players will line up alongside some of biggest names in international women’s cricket, including… ICC Women’s World T20 winning captain, West Indian Stafanie Taylor (Western Storm), Australia’s Ellyse Perry (Loughborough Lightning) and Wisden Cricketer of the Year, New Zealander, Suzie Bates (Southern Vipers).


What’s the format?
Exciting T20 cricket in a round-robin tournament. Over 16 days the teams will contest 15 group matches with everyone bidding to qualify for finals day at the Essex County Ground, Chelmsford, on Sunday 21st August.

When does it all get underway?
On Saturday 30th July when Yorkshire Diamonds host Loughborough Lightning at Headingley.

How can I get involved?
Tickets are on sale now for all matches. Don’t miss your chance to see the best women’s cricketers in the world in action this summer.

Olympics – Finish in the Olympic Stadium as a team!

We Are MEDWAY SPORTS Love Sport#SportsWebLinks

Take on a Team Challenge this summer!

Has your team got what it takes to conquer the Great Team Relay on Thursday 14 July?

Great run2
Join us in the iconic setting of Newham’s Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park for a 4 x 5k Team Relay and enjoy your big finish line moment inside the Stadium where athletic greats Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis-Hill and Usain Bolt were hailed heroes in 2012.

Whether it’s for the fun, the fitness or to take first place… your team of four can be made up of all abilities and are invited to join this fantastic event.

Once you’ve finished, you and your team can relax and sample the many hospitality packages available within the Stadium.

Great run

Sailing – Nick Thompson Repeats as Laser World Champion on Epic Final Day

We Are MEDWAY SPORTS Love Sport#SportsWebLinks

2016 Laser Standard Men’s World Championship Riviera Nayarit, Mexico : 10th-18th May 2016

(Riviera Nayarit, Mexico) Great Britain’s Nick Thompson won his second Laser World Championship and has now joined an elite group of sailors who can claim back-to-back titles in what many consider one of the world’s toughest sporting events.

Nick Thompson

The wind on the final day was only a 15 degrees south of the typical direction but caused the biggest place changes seen during 14 race series in the waters of Riviera Nayarit, Mexico. Big gains and losses affected both the championship leader and those further down the leader board. As Thompson said, “It was definitely very stressful!”

Most of the top sailors started near the pin, but the wind shifted right and never allowed them to tack and cross to the right side of the course. It was not clear what had happened until the fleet rounded the first mark and Giovanni Coccoluto ITA led his teammate Marco Gallo out of the chasing group.

Thompson was back in 25th position but surprisingly his nearest rivals, Jean-Baptiste Bernaz of France and Croatia’s Pavlos Kontides found themselves in 41st and 50th places respectively.

But Thompson almost let his victory slip away when on the next upwind leg he dropped to 40th place while Bernaz amazingly clawed his way up to the top of the fleet. Robert Scheidt also dropped from the top-10 down to 30th on the leg.

At the finish, Coccoluto held on to his position to the lead Wannes van Laer of Belgium and Dutchman, Rutger van Schaardenburg, across the line. Bernaz held on for fifth place and with Thompson’s 41st place finish, it was all down to the last of the 14 races to decide the title.

“I had to do some quick calculations” said Thompson. “I worked out that I had to watch Jean-Baptiste and Matthew Wearn in the last race. That was impossible so I decided to sail my own race. I started near the committee boat and crossed off Matthew at the start and then had a close cross with Jean-Baptiste just before the first mark. At that point I felt back in control although there was still a long way to go. Jean-Baptiste was ahead of me until the second upwind when we split tacks and I was able to pass him and stay ahead.”

When Thompson pulled ahead of Bernaz on the second upwind leg, he had essentially sealed his victory as he successfully covered Bernaz to the finish.

Rutger van Schaardenburg won the final race, and combined with his third in the first race of the day promoted him from an overnight position of tenth to third overall, showing how close the racing was in the gold fleet.

Bernaz held on to his second place overall position and with the regatta win, Thompson became only the fifth person in 42 years to successfully defend a Laser World Championship title.

Final overall results after 14 races and 2 discards.

1. Nick Thompson GBR 61pts

2. Jean-Baptiste Bernaz FRA 73pts

3. Rutger van Schaardenburg NED 88pts

4. Matthew Wearn AUS 90pts

5. Marco Gallo ITA 93pts

6.Tom Burton AUS 101pts

7. Tonci Stipanovic CRO 118pts

8. Philipp Buhl GER 123pts

9. Jesper Stalheim SWE 123pts

10. Robert Scheidt BRA 127pts

The dates & locations for next years events are as follows:

2017 Laser Standard Men’s World Championship
5 September 2017 – 12 September 2017

2017 Laser Masters World Championships
14 September 2017 – 23 September 2017

Sports – We Are MEDWAY SPORTS #SportsWebLinks

Armchair FootballLove Sport

Englands Equestrian

British Soccer Mom

Goldfinger Racing

Jumpers For Goalposts

The Accumulator

UK Football Predictions               Billiards and Snooker Archive

These people and websites have supported us from the beginning, and we’d like to say thank you.

We Love Sport

We’d also like to put out a special mention to our friend Biggish Mouth. Who’s blog covers every sport possible as he rants and shares his opinions on everything sport related.